Back in 2002, broadcasters from the Lone Star State formed the Texas Radio Hall Of Fame.  Over the 15 years since, about 300 industry notables have been enshrined, including station owners, management executives, & on-air performers.  Membership in the organization has grown so significantly that a permanent home base needed to be established for the group, & it's right here in East Texas.  Kilgore's Texas Museum Of Broadcasting And Communications will now have a section dedicated to honoring those noteworthy broadcasters inducted into the Texas Radio Hall Of Fame.

Voting is going on right now for 2017's Hall Of Fame Class, & two of this year's nominees are part of the Classic Rock 96-1 family:


Fast Eddie Coyle has been part of the music radio scene in Texas since 1988.  He spent 25 of those years on the air in Dallas-Fort Worth, & began hosting the afternoon show here on Classic Rock 96-1 in March.  Fast Eddie's been nominated for this prestigious award twice previously, & we're keeping our fingers crossed his third time will be the charm!


Our 2nd representative among the Class Of '17 nominees is...  ME-  John Roberts!


I've worked for radio stations in the Lone Star State for a total of 18 years, 9 in Austin, 8 in Dallas-Fort Worth, & now here in Tyler-Longview since last October.  My primary role for Classic Rock 96-1 & the other 3 local Townsquare Media stations is Operations Manager.  I'm also the day to day Brand Manager for 3 of the 4 stations, including Texas' Best Rock!  While you don't hear me on the air every day, when one of our regular Classic Rock 96-1 Personalities has the day off, most of the time it's me filling in.  This is the first time I've received a Texas Radio Hall Of Fame nomination, & it's certainly a terrific feeling to be recognized by the panel of radio pros who take part in the voting process every year.

We'll find out in early August which Class Of '17 nominees topped the final ballots.  The ceremony to mark those winners' permanent place in Texas broadcast history is set for November 4th at the Texas Museum Of Broadcasting And Communications in Kilgore.