The Texas University Scholastic League released its new classifications for high school football and basketball this morning, and there are some incredible changes for area schools.

The jaw-dropper comes in Class 3A, where the new District 16-3A consists of Bullard, defending state-champion Chapel Hill, Gilmer, Gladewater, Henderson, Kilgore and Spring Hill.

Bullard, Chapel Hill, Gilmer and Henderson all went at least three rounds deep in the football playoffs this past season, while Kilgore did the same in Class 4A.

In 5A, the scenery is much of the same for Robert E. Lee and Longview, as the two are still in the same district together. The new District 12-5A has two fresh faces with Rockwall and Rockwall-Heath, while Mesquite, Mesquite Horn and North Mesquite were with Lee and Longview the past two years.

John Tyler, Whitehouse, Nacogdoches and Jacksonville stayed in the same district together, but they get a new face in Lindale, which moved up from Class 3A as expected, and Corsicana, which reached the state semifinals in 4A in 2011.

The enrollment limits for each classification are: 5A: 2,090 and above; 4A: 1,005-2,089; 3A: 450-1,004; 2A: 200-449; 1A: 199 and below.

Two-a-days are scheduled to start Aug. 6, and the day first football games can be played is Aug. 30.

Here are the complete district realignments – which occur every other February – for East Texas schools:


District 12-5A

Longview, Mesquite, Mesquite Horn, North Mesquite, Rockwall, Rockwall-Heath, Robert E. Lee

District 14-5A

Bryan, A&M Consolidated, Conroe, Conroe Oak Ridge, Conroe The Woodlands, Conroe The Woodlands College Park, Lufkin

District 14-4A

Hallsville, Pine Tree, Marshall, Mount Pleasant, Sulphur Springs, Texas High

District 16-4A

Corsicana, Jacksonville, John Tyler, Lindale, Nacogdoches, Whitehouse

District 13-3A

Atlanta, Paris, North Lamar, Pittsburg, Liberty-Eylau, Pleasant Grove

District 14-3A

Crandall, Rains, Kaufman, Quinlan Ford, Wills Point

District 15-3A

Athens, Brownsboro, Canton, Mabank, Mineola, Van

District 16-3A

Bullard, Chapel Hill, Gilmer, Gladewater, Henderson, Kilgore, Spring Hill

District 19-3A

Fairfield, Groesbeck, Mexia, Palestine, Rusk

District 20-3A

Carthage, Center, Diboll, Huntington, Jasper, Lufkin Hudson*, Pollok Central*

District 7-2A Division I (Football only)

Eustace, Grand Saline, Kemp, Lone Oak, Malakoff, Quitman, Winnsboro

District 8-2A Division I (Football only)

Daingerfield, Hooks, Mount Vernon, New Boston, Prairiland, Queen City, Redwater

District 9-2A Division I (Football only)

Harmony, Sabine, Jefferson, Tatum, Troup, White Oak

District 11-2A Division I (Football only)

Crockett, Elkhart, Franklin, Palestine Westwood, Teague, Trinity

District 8-2A Division II (Football only)

Alba-Golden, Bogata Rivercrest, Clarksville, Como-Pickton, Cooper, Edgewood, Paris Chisum

District 9-2A Division II (Football only)

DeKalb, New Diana, Elysian Fields, Hughes Springs, Linden-Kildare, Omaha Paul Pewitt, Ore City, Waskom

District 10-2A Division II (Football only)

Arp, Frankston, Garrison, Union Grove, Hawkins, West Rusk, Winona

District 6-1A Division I

Cayuga, Dallas Gateway, Italy, Itasca, Kerens, Cross Roads

District 9-1A Division I

Beckville, Big Sandy, Harleton, Joaquin, Carlisle, Timpson

District 10-1A Division I

Alto, Cushing, Grapeland, West Sabine, San Augustine, Shelbyville

District 10-1A Division II

Cumby, Detroit, Union Hill, Maud, Overton

District 11-1A Division II

Burkeville, Evadale, Mount Enterprise, Sabine Pass, Tenaha

* -- Basketball only schools


With all that said, what do you think? Do you like where your school ended up?

More From KKTX FM