The Texas Department of Transportation announced this morning the Texas Transportation Commission approved raising the speed limit from 70 to 75 mph on more than 1,500 miles of Interstate highways across the state. This will include more than 120 miles of Interstate 20 in East Texas.

The speed limit will be raised to 75 mph from the Kaufman/Van Zandt County line to the Louisiana border.  This will impact the counties of Van Zandt, Smith, Gregg and Harrison.

The new speed limit will not take effect until the  state has the opportunity to change the signs. This is expected to be completed in the next 60 to 90 days.

More From KKTX FM