Officials with the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo have canceled the event due to growing concerns over the coronavirus.

According to ABC13, Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner told council members that the announcement is to come this afternoon. RodeoHouston posted the following message to its Facebook page.

The Rodeo was scheduled to run through March 22.

Here is the remaining schedule:
Wednesday, March 11 - Country - Kane Brown
Thursday, March 12 - Country - Cody Johnson
Friday, March 13 - Hip Hop/Pop - Lizzo
Saturday, March 14 - Country - John Pardi
Sunday, March 15 - Country - Dierks Bentley
Monday, March 16 - Country - Keith Urban
Tuesday, March 17 - Pop - Gwen Stefani
Wednesday, March 18 - R&B/Pop - Khalid
Thursday, March 19 - Country - Chris Stapleton
Friday, March 20 - EDM - Marshmello
Saturday, March 21 - Country - Brad Paisley
Sunday, March 22 - Country - Luke Bryan

change.org petition titled "Petition to Cancel the Houston Rodeo Amid Coronavirus Outbreak" was started ahead of Wednesday's announcement. As of this writing, over 4,600 people have signed.

RodeoHouston says that a ticket refund process is still in the works and will be communicated once it is finalized.