What Sorcery is This? Some Areas Have Age, Time Limits For Trick-Or-Treating
What's the rule for trick or treating in East Texas? Start about 7 P.M., give or take, and end when the porch light is turned off. Simple, easy, fun.
However, some areas are such a killjoy that a kid can serve jail time for being to old to trick or treat or are out past a certain time.
What sorcery is this?!
Yeah. Let me run down certain ordinances in certain towns according to ksat.com:
- Holly Springs, North Carolina - Kids must 12 and under to trick or treat and must be done by 9 P.M.
- Chesapeake, Virginia - If over the age of 13, and out trick or treating, it can be a six month jail sentence. If caught after 8 P.M. trick or treating, it can be 30 days in jail and $100 fine.
- Newport, Virginia - Must be under 12 years old to trick or treat or could be a Class 4 misdemeanor.
- Upper Deerfield Township, New Jersey - You must be under 12 years old to trick or treat. In several other New Jersey communities, treat or treating must end at 7 P.M.
I'm all for following the rules and laws but this is 100% stupid. What is wrong with a teenager getting dressed up and going trick or treating? Absolutely nothing. Let the kids be kids for this night and have some spooky fun Halloween night.