If You Don’t Buckle Up in Texas, It Can Cost You
The annual Click It or Ticket campaign starts soon, meaning officers will be focused on passing out tickets to those of us that head down the road without seat belts fastened.
The dates cover Memorial Day - one of the busiest and most dangerous weekends to be out on the highway.
If you don't buckle up in Texas you can face fines and court costs up to $200, and they'll have extra eyes on the roads ahead of Memorial Day weekend to start enforcing it, as part of the Click It or Ticket campaign.
Police departments across the nation will step up enforcement efforts from May 23 through June 5, and East Texas officers are part of the effort.
It's not just unbuckled adults that they'll be looking for. Kids younger than 8 years old have to be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they're taller than 4 feet 9 inches. Kids can ride in the front seat legally when they're 13. Tyler Police offer more tips on buckling up kids HERE.
Tyler Police will be part of the Click It or Ticket push, and so will officers in Longview, and State Troopers too. Kilgore officers have been part of the effort in the past, and likely will again. Eyes will be everywhere, so consider this your heads up to buckle up and avoid the fines.